SunDay Swoons

This post is inspired by Effy Wild’s Sunday Swoon tradition.  Her blog today begins, “I love this feature because it gives me an opportunity to showcase all the lovely things you’ve been creating throughout the week! … [I]f you did something that really made you proud this week, please blog about it and add your link!”  Her own two swoony posts–a Demeter she did for the Moonshine Mother class that I am floundering in, and a lovely gratitude art spread that I aspire to emulate–are worth a visit! http://effywild.com/2013/10/06/sunday-swoon-october-6-2013/

IMG_2314

Simple collage inspired by the journal prompt for Moonshine Mother, “When I hold the word “Mother” in my awareness, I feel…”

Effy’s “swoon” and those of her tribe are usually paintings or art journal spreads (what she teaches), but since I’m still a rank beginner in those realms I’m posting photography and small stones (mindfulness moments in prose or poetry), simple collaging, land art, and even daily artistic play such as a particularly pleasing arrangement of laundry on my clothesline.  To start off this feature on my blog, I’m going back two weeks for my favorites in all realms of personal “artistic” creativity.

I’ll challenge myself to do more art so I have a “swoon” to post weekly.  Wish me luck–and get out your own art supplies and post links to your own swoons in my comments section!

 

Laundry "Spread" echoing muted greens of drying mesquite leaves

Laundry “Spread” echoing muted greens of drying mesquite leaves

A recent favorite “laundry spread” in muted greens that echo the fading greens of drying mesquite leaves.

I love hanging the laundry by color and form, temporary “art” that comes inside smelling of fresh air and sunshine.

How about you?

 

A fun photo capture in my Shadow Play series

Mr Black’s shadow self appears to be …a javelina!

 

A fun photo capture in my Shadow Play series.

The neighbor’s cat, my part-time witch’s familiar, seems to have a shadow side as a rather short-legged javelina!  Look at that piggy snout!

I love serendipity like this, and the camera helps to capture it with moving targets like Mr Black.

 

 

 

Magical juxtaposition that inspired a Small Stone

Magical juxtaposition that inspired a Small Stone

Another playful photo capture that inspired an Elfje I posted on the Small Stones Facebook group:

Summer

lingers here

house stays hot/

moths tattered from close

escapes

I enjoy capturing the weird stuff that appears on my computer screen in snapshot photo collages.  Isn’t the serendipity amazing in this one, how the rainbow light shines through the bird’s beak shaped missing spot on the moth’s wing?

 

IMG_2336

Here’s a Small Stone posted 28 September that is more aligned with that group’s focus on mindfulness:

Venus
above Mesquite,
cradled by Acacia

The goal is to become more mindful of passing moments by capturing them in short prose or poetry.  Interested?  Join the Facebook group Small Stones: Writing Our Way Home.

 

Effy Wild suggested using Quinacridone Magenta as the red for color mixing.  Wowza!

Effy Wild suggested using Quinacridone Magenta as the red for color mixing. Wowza!

In closing here’s my first ever color mixing wheel, done in the Bootcamp for Effy Wild’s Moonshine Mother course.

Yes, Golden acrylics are swoony!  And using Quinacridone Magenta in place of red, as Effy suggested, makes a swoony wheel.

Thank you, Effy, for teaching me color mixing, and the importance of investing in quality art supplies.

Which I hope will result in more personally created artistic Sunday Swoons as I make my way through Effy’s Book of Days Bootcamp.  It’s free (!) so check it out (and enroll in Book of Days 2014) at http://effywild.com/ if you’re interested in art journalling as a spiritual practice.  You can also join her Facebook tribe at The Glitterhood.

Now to post this Swoon and get out in the Healing Grove arts and crafts studio to see what creativity will flow….  I hope we all have a great week playing art!

via Nature Wisdom Journey » Blog http://naturewisdomjourney.com/2013/10/06/sunday-swoons/

Leave a Reply

