Thanks-full Thursday

Firstly, I am thankful for inspiration from other bloggers from the Glitterhood for “Wordless Wednesdays” and “Thankful Tuesdays” (I’m shifting thankfulness to the other “T” day, liking the assonance of the two Th’s).  Like “Six Word Saturday” on the Small Stones forum, these daily designations are opportunities to post blessedly brief posts, and incentive to post weekly.  After writing so many long, and mostly lavishly illustrated, posts this blogalong month, brevity is a true blessing–for this blogger, and likely for any followers I may have acquired!

Yesterday's sunset.  Today's sky was too thickly gray with rainclouds to color up.  I'm hoping they will water my gardens as I sleep!

Tuesday’s sunset. Wednesday and Thursday the sky was too thickly gray with rainclouds to color up. Finally, abundant rain!

Today I am deeply thankful for RAIN!  In this low desert, summer “monsoon” rains bring life-giving water to all who live here, and wonderful, if brief, coolness.  The rains’ capriciousness is sometimes frustrating, often entertaining, as one cloud pours “buckets” over a small area, or a dark wall of rain appears to be moving my way, but no……… And then, on a partly cloudy day it’s my turn for the deluge and the fun of the puddles afterward.  Over the past few days, we’ve gotten enough rain to free me from the task of twice-daily watering of my extensive gardens. Free time!  Coolness!  and that “desert smells like rain” fragrance to the air.  Yes, I am thankful this Thursday.

 

P.S.  I drafted the above last night, so I could post it before going into Tucson this morning (Thursday).  There was no Internet connection this morning, so I’m posting this before bedtime.  My Thursday turned out to be much rainier than hoped for!  Coming home the back way over the Tucson Mountains, I could see a wall of rain over the Sierrita mountains that drain into my valley.  By the time I got to my dirt road, it was a slippery bottomed river, and the wash some of us refer to as the Nile River was flooded to the top of its banks.

I used the time sitting in my car while the rain poured down to write in my newly purchased little journal.  This “small stone” describes my waiting for the flood to abate:

wavery

distorted view

rain on windshield

stranded at flooded wash

muddy river flowing down road

time to walk the mile home?

After waiting several hours for the water to recede, I was able to leave my car on the highway side of the “Nile” and cross on foot at a wide place upstream of our road.  I walked home as night descended.  The crickets are chirping insanely loudly tonight (a cacophony of crickets?!), and a few belated Sonoran desert toads are bleating their strange mating calls in the catchment ponds (most having worn themselves out during their mating frenzy during the first monsoon rain nearly two months ago).

I’m now blessedly dry and fed and ready for my “deep healing sleep”–and thankful for rain, and for an unexpected adventure and unplanned walk in the fresh air.

Blessed Be!

 

via Nature Wisdom Journey » Blog http://naturewisdomjourney.com/2013/08/30/thanks-full-thursday/

Leave a Reply

