Wasp Moon(s)

Wasp Moon #1, posted to Small Stones 1 June

Newly discovered paper wasp nest in my persimmon tree, 1June13

Newly discovered wasp nest in my persimmon tree, 1 June 2013

In persimmon

small paper umbrella

never noticed

until

this morning

six yellow wasps

hanging

to the underside…

Newly discovered paper wasp nest in my persimmon tree, 1June13

Another view of the paper wasp nest in my persimmon tree, 1 June 2013

I shake the tree while watering

one wasp flies away

five others

not yet ready

stretch wings toward

young sun

 

I first posted my Wasp Moon photos and small stone on June 1, on the Facebook group Small Stones-Writing Our Way Home.  I have watered that persimmon tree almost daily over the summer, and only recently noticed that the wasps have never left.  Instead, they have continued to enlarge the nest, one tiny mouthful of slowly masticated bark at a time.

I wonder, without winter’s frosts, would this nest be continually expanded for years? What wonderful mysteries there are in my yard, too frequently unnoticed!  When will young wasps emerge from the eggs sealed in those paper cells?  I hope I can be more mindful to look at what is happening each day in my little tree!

Paper wasps, slowly  enlarging persimmon tree nest for over 2  months

Paper wasps, after slowly enlarging persimmon tree nest for over 2 months

 

Wasp Moon #2, written 7 August 2013:

 

mistaken!

paper wasps

I thought hatchlings

were adults slowly enlarging

nest

 

I’m learning that mindfulness is about noticing small changes (or sometimes, lack of change) in the same things previously noticed.  Even my aging, fatigue-challenged self craves the excitement of new experiences.  Even my Nature-connected, science-trained, slow-moving self gets lost in my own vatta-predominanat [air-]head and forgets to notice the small miracles and mysteries that abound in my small world.

Hohokan petroglyph located 10 miles by crowflight from my home

Hohokan petroglyph located 10 miles by crowflight from my home

Summation Stone for the Wasp Moons cairn:

Grateful

I am

[for] eyes to see….

May I use them

mindfully!

via Nature Wisdom Journey » Blog http://naturewisdomjourney.com/2013/08/21/wasp-moons/

Leave a Reply

