Day 8: Surgery and Self-affirmation Day

IMG_1659

Sunrise through one of the mesquite trees at my campsite, taken earlier this week

I am writing this post for Day 8 of the Blogalong  a bit early, because I will be leaving home at sunrise tomorrow to go into the city for MOHs surgery. MOHs is an elegant way to remove basal cell carcinomas, with biopsy  done on the spot (pun intended), repeating the excision-biopsy sequence until the margins are clear of cancer cells.

Because The Spot is on my nose, and has gone deep (procrastination does not work when cancer is involved!), I’ll probably have to have reconstructive surgery with another surgeon, which will be done under general anesthesia (unlike the MOHs which only requires local anesthesia). I’ll see if I can write anything after I wake up tomorrow afternoon–What emerges after “twilight sleep” drugs might be quite interesting!  (Or not)

What I’m thinking about right now is how proud I am of having posted to my blog every day (I certainly didn’t expect to!). I’m also pleased to report that I have actively participated in the Blogalong by reading and commenting on a few posts by other blogalongers every day, and I’ve been posting in the Glitterhood forum on Facebook (the sponsoring site).  I’ve also linked relevant posts to other forums that I participate in….

Wow, what a lot of networking!  What audacity to put my voice out in such a big-for-me way!  What great practice this has been for easily finding inspiration–and writing at will. And what a lot of great copy I have for the newsletter I will launch as soon as my website has a good email list generator.

Pride isn’t a place I go to often.  I’m more likely to say I’m pleased with something I’ve done, or avoid affirming myself at all. Maybe because my mom would quote the old adage about pride going before a fall…and all that early programming in the ’50′s and ’60′s for girls to be modest, gak!

This feels like healthy pride, pride in accomplishing easily what used to be so difficult (writing), pride in the product created.  I love how a word, image, or small event has inspired an idea which I expanded into an essay and illustrated with my own photos.

It took me days to write, and edit, and reedit the original posts on my blog, and the few photos I inserted all posted sideways.  I think I’m most proud right that I accomplished each of these seven posts in less than a day from idea to publishing.

Previously, inspiration came infrequently, and neither my writing nor my agility in the technical aspects of blogging were improving much from post to post.  That is an old story–I’m hitting delete and rewriting it as

“I am an inspired blogger!”

IMG_0434

 

 

My first wish for you today is that you can easily let go of false modesty and take genuine pride in being your creative self.  Let your light shine brightly!

 

IMG_1681

Katy did “like” my recent post, and other bloggalongers left nice comments!

My second wish for you is a quantum leap in your own writing.  If daily blogging in a supportive group might help (or just be fun!), come join us on Effy Wild’s Blogalong–we’re having a great time blogging, and are becoming better bloggers in the process. It’s not too late to join–there are 22 more days to go, yay!  Click on the link below for more info:   http://effythewild.com/blog/2013/7/23/blogalong-with-effy-in-august

via Nature Wisdom Journey » Blog http://naturewisdomjourney.com/2013/08/08/day-8-surgery-and-self-affirmation-day/

2 thoughts on “Day 8: Surgery and Self-affirmation Day

  1. Great post. I was checking continuously this blog
    and I am inspired! Extremely helpful info particularly the closing phase :
    ) I maintain such info much. I used to be seeking
    this particular info for a very lengthy time. Thanks and good luck.

Leave a Reply

