First Law on Holes?

Penzu’s prompt for today: Here’s a great quote to inspire you to write:
“First law on holes – when you’re in one, stop digging.” – Denis Healey

IMG_0239

 

OK, if I’m “in the hole” financially, it’s time to stop over spending! I think I’ll put my credit cards away for a while, and perhaps cut up some of them…. Anyone remember the good old cash economy? It was so much easier to live “within my means” back in then!

 

 
IMG_0120

And whenever I’m “in the hole” emotionally, I can stop those depressing thoughts by replacing them with thoughts of gratitude and hope. Instead of feeling sorry for myself, I can reach out to make someone else’s day brighter (and my own as well). …really look into a flower, savor each bite of food, and be “religious” about keeping my gratitude journal!

 

But Mr Healey, if I’m “in the hole” where I’ll be composting my humanure and planting a tree, I should KEEP DIGGING! Deeper (and wide(r is beneficial to the long-term health and productivity of my trees. Of course,I need to remember to rest my back between rounds of digging. Who says a hole has to be completed before taking a break…for an hour or a couple days? 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

