Imbolc–Bright Blessings of Brighid!

Bright Blessings this cross-quarter (between Solstice and Equinox) day!  The Sun has returned enough that we can notice (and celebrate!) longer days and increased light on the north side of our homes (apologies for my Northern hemisphere perspective to all those easing out of Summer!).

Before she was co-opted into the Catholic pantheon of Saints, Brighid was the Sun Goddess of my Celtic ancestors, so for me (and many others) this pagan holyday is sacred to Her (and my priestess name is Brighidsdottir).  Although the church fathers did not recognize the Sun Goddess, they kept Brighid’s sacred powers as Smithcrafter (transforming by Fire), Muse of bards and poets, and Healer.  Like the Virgin, she wears a cloak that comforts and heals, but it is her hair–often depicted as flames–that bring her energy to me when I’m tired.  I envision Her mantle surrounding when I’m sad or ready to sleep.

Brighid--by Wendy AndrewPainting by Wendy Andrew, copied from a Facebook post and used without permission.  I hope she approves my sharing this gorgeous vision of Brighid!

If you didn’t celebrate Candlemas/ Imbolc/ Brighid last night on the Eve, all day today is sacred–and secular (look for the groundhog or its equivalent in your biome today!).  Think about emerging from hibernation now–or slowly as we approach the Vernal Equinox (the groundhog is our Guide in how quickly to emerge each year).  Plant seeds–literally in my desert garden or in pots for transplanting after your garden thaws (or my soil warms enough for summer crops)–or metaphorically as seeds of intention.  I love to combine literal and metaphoric seeds to get the garden planted and cast spells of intentionality as I “work.”  Take wheat stalks and weave Brighid’s crosses (sunspirals!).  Invoke the Sun and light candles in honor of Her return.

Celebrate (again!) at Lunar Imbolc/ Lunar Brighid at the upcoming DarkMoon (wonderful for divination and letting go of what no longer serves us) and NewMoon (perfect for planting seeds of intention!)–one week from today.

fyi if this is unfamiliar:  DarkMoon is the day and night (or several) right before NewMoon, when the moon is invisible in the sky and the energy is most inward for attuned we’moon.  Our energy turns outward after the balance point called “New Moon” on our calendars, that astronomic point when the Sun and Moon are closest together in our sky.  I like to celebrate NewMoon when I first see the lovely tiny crescent in the evening sky a day or two after the astromomic balance point–isn’t that a special sighting?!  The evening just before New Moon is when I love to hold DarkMoon circles.  I will resume after the Sun returns enough for us to meet outdoors in the Healing Grove; meanwhile I am doing my Imbolc magic as a solitary, mostly indoors by lamplight pagan, except for daytime seedsowing and moonsightings whenever the sky is clear.

Wherever, whenever, solitary or in circle, celebrate as you are called to do!  And when you need comfort, know that Brighid’s mantle awaits to cover you with Her nurturing warmth.

Blessed Be!

Leave a Reply

